Back to the computer science and engineering home page.
Computer Science &
Electrical Engineering

Course Info
Description
Grading
Your Grades

A note about plagiarism

CS533 Automata and Formal Languages
Fall 2014

 

Instructor
Peter Heeman

When
Tuesday/Thursday 3:30pm-5:00pm

Where
Gains Hall Room 5

3 credits


Course Information


Grading

Assignments 60%
Midterm 20%
Final Exam 20%

Class Schedule

Below is a tentative vesion of the class schedule. I am making this available so that you can get an idea of what will be taught in the course. I am making tentative versions of the homeworks and the class lecture slides.

The textbook is Introduction to the Theory of Computation 3rd edition, by Michael Sipser.

Tue Sep 30
Class 1
Lecture 1a Finite Automata Chapter 1
Thu Oct 2
Class 2
Lecture 1b Non-determistic Finite Automata
  Homework 1 Due Thursday October 9 by 3:30pm.
Tue Oct 7
Class 3
Lecture 1c Regular Expressions
Thu Oct 9
Class 4
Continued
  Homework 2 Due Thursday October 16 by 3:30pm.
Tue Oct 14
Class 5
Lecture 1d
Pumping Lemma for non-Regular Languages
Thu Oct 16
Class 6
Lecture 2a Context Free Grammars Chapter 2
  Homework 3 Due Thursday October 23 by 3:30pm.
Tue Oct 21
Class 7
Lecture 2b Designing CFG, Chomsky Normal Form, Nondeterministic pushdown automata
Thu Oct 23
Class 8
Lecture 2c Equivalence of PDA and CFG
  Homework 4 Due Thursday October 30 by 3:30pm.
Tue Oct 28
Class 9
Lecture 2d
Pumping Lemma for non-Context-Free Languages
Chapter 3
Thu Oct 30
Class 10
Lecture 3a
Lecture 3b
Turing Machines
  Homework 5 Due Thursday November 6 by 3:30pm. Last homework covered on the midterm.
Tue Nov 4
Class 11
Lecture 3c Variants
Thu Nov 6
Class 12
Lecture 4a Decidability of DFA's and CFG's
Chapter 4
Tue Nov 11
Class 13
Midterm Review
Thu Nov 13
Class 14
Midterm Chapters 1-3
  Homework 6 Due Thursday November 20 by 3:30pm.
Tue Nov 18
Class 15
Lecture 4b Enumerable sets and the Halting Problem
Thu Nov 20
Class 16
Lecture 5a Reductions
Chapter 5
  Homework 7 Due Thursday November 27 by 3:30pm.
Tue Nov 25
Class 17
Lecture 5b Reductions on Computational Histories
Thu Nov 27
Class 18
Lecture 7a Time Complexity
Chapter 7
  Homework 8 Due Thursday December 4 by 3:30pm.
Tue Dec 2
Class 19
Lecture 7b P and NP
Thu Dec 4
Class 20
Lecture 7b P and NP
  Homework 9 Due Thursday December 11 by 3:30pm.
Tue Dec 9
Class 21
  No Class
Thu Dec 11
Class 22
  Review Session for
Tue Dec 16
Class 23
  Final

Plagiarism

Learning from and with each other is encouraged. However, interacting so as to avoid learning is not tolerated. Any discussion in which no personal notes (or programs) are taken in, and none are taken out, are fine. From such discussions, students should learn the material well enough to construct their notes on their own afterwards. If you are in doubt, the onus is you to discuss the sitation with the professor before hand.