Back to the computer science and engineering home page.
Computer Science &
Electrical Engineering

Course Info
Description
Grading
Your Grades

Plagiarism

Student Access

CS533 Automata and Formal Languages
Fall 2016

 

Instructor
Peter Heeman

When
Tuesday/Thursday 3:30pm-5:00pm

Where
Gains Hall Room 5

3 credits


Course Information


Grading

Assignments 60%
Midterm 20%
Final Exam 20%

Class Schedule

Below is a tentative vesion of the class schedule. I am making this available so that you can get an idea of what will be taught in the course. I am making tentative versions of the homeworks and the class lecture slides.

The textbook is Introduction to the Theory of Computation 3rd edition, by Michael Sipser.

Tue Jun 28
Class 1
Lecture 1a Chapter1: Finite Automata
Thu Jun 30
Class 2
Lecture 1b Proof techniques
Tue Jul 5
Class 3
Lecture 1c Non-determistic Finite Automata Homework 1
Thu Jul 7
Class 4
Lecture 1d Regular Expressions
Tue Jul 12
Class 5
Lecture 1e
Lecture 1f
Pumping Lemma for non-Regular Languages Homework 2
Thu Jul 14
Class 6
Lecture 2a Chapter 2: Context Free Grammars
Tue Jul 19
Class 7
Lecture 2b Designing CFG, Chomsky Normal Form, Nondeterministic pushdown automata Homework 3
Thu Jul 21
Class 8
Lecture 2c Equivalence of PDA and CFG
Tue Jul 26
Class 9
Lecture 2d
Pumping Lemma for non-Context-Free Languages Homework 4
Thu Jul 28
Class 10
Lecture 3a Chapter 3: Turing Machines
Tue Aug 2
Class 11
Lecture 3c Non-determinism Homework 5
Thu Aug 4
Class 12
Lecture 4a Chapter 4: Decidability of DFA's and CFG's
Tue Aug 9
Class 13
Lecture 4b
Lecture 5a
Enumerable sets and the Halting Problem
Chapter 5: Reductions
Homework 6
Thu Aug 11
Class 14
Midterm Review
Tue Aug 16
Class 15
Midterm Chapters 1-3
Thu Aug 18
Class 16
Lecture 5b Reductions on Computational Histories Homework 7
Tue Aug 23
Class 17
Lecture 7a Chapter 7: Time Complexity
Thu Aug 25
Class 18
Lecture 7b P and NP Homework 8
Tue Aug 30
Class 19
Lecture 7c NP Complete  
Thu Sep 1
Class 20
  Continuation Homework 9
Tue Sep 6
Class 21
  No class  
Thu Sep 8
Class 22
  No class Homework 10
Tue Sep 13
Class 23
Review Session for
Thu Sep 15
Class 24
  Final

Plagiarism

Learning from and with each other is encouraged. However, interacting so as to avoid learning is not tolerated. Any discussion in which no personal notes (or programs) are taken in, and none are taken out, are fine. From such discussions, students should learn the material well enough to construct their notes on their own afterwards. If you are in doubt, the onus is you to discuss the sitation with the professor before hand.

Student Access

Our program is committed to all students achieving their potential. If you have a disability or think you may have a disability (physical, learning, hearing, vision, psychological) which may need a reasonable accommodation please contact Student Access at (503) 494-0082 or e-mail studentaccess@ohsu.edu to discuss your needs. You can also find more information at < href="www.ohsu.edu/student-access">www.ohsu.edu/student-access. Because accommodations can take time to implement, it is important to have this discussion as soon as possible. All information regarding a student’s disability is kept in accordance with relevant state and federal laws.